Think Anew, Act Anew

observations and opinion

I’m not a smart man, but…

In “I’ll be Home”, what Randy Newman was saying (I think) is not just that he will wait for her to come to him, but that even if she never does, he will “be” a home for the one he loves.

And that’s the deal isn’t it?  A friend may wander off for years, but you will “be” home when they return.   You grow up, but you’ll “be” home for the ones you left behind.   You watch your son or daughter walk off into the distance, and you’ll “be” home for them, wherever they are.

As good ole’ Forrest Gump said, “I’m not a smart man, but I know what love is.”

Harry sang it again later, on this old beauty.   “Maybe I’m right, or maybe I’m wrong…”  the point being of course, that being right is not what matters.   It’s just being.

One comment on “I’m not a smart man, but…

  1. Pingback: My Valentine | Think Anew, Act Anew

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2014 by in Arts and Entertainment, what is this thing called love?.
