Think Anew, Act Anew

observations and opinion

Named after a slave owner

In these sensitive times, we must reflect upon how we may offend others. Habits, traditions and words that once were acceptable must be reconsidered.

Many decades ago, my parents named me “David.” At the time it was the #1 name for baby boys. Davy Crockett was a popular TV show. My mom thought David Niven was elegant and sexy. The US President’s middle name was David. And of course, the Biblical story of the shepherd boy David (who slew Goliath with a slingshot and went on to become King of Israel) gave the name a heroic aspect.

Sadly, way back then people didn’t know – or care – about the dark history of the name. The Biblical David, hero to some, was less well-liked by the people he killed (including his mistress’ husband). His views on women, 3,000 years ago, were probably not very progressive. King David conquered Jerusalem and look what that led to. And of course – shudder – King David probably owned slaves.

In recent times, society is bitterly divided about many famous Davids: Cassidy, Spade, Letterman, Hasselhoff, Lee Roth, Frost, Chapelle, Duchovny. Everyone dislikes Schwimmer and Caruso. And be honest, you say you like Bowie but when was the last time you listened to one of his records?

Thus, while no-one has ever mentioned it to me, I now understand that my name is deeply offensive. This forces me to contemplate a change.

One option is to go with “The Lawyer formerly known as David” (see prototype symbol attached). Another is my middle name “Keith” which, being of Scottish origin, saves me from accusations of cultural appropriation.

Until that is decided I hope people will avert their eyes from The Name, and perhaps take even more Gravol than usual when reading anything I post. 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2021 by in Identity.