Think Anew, Act Anew

observations and opinion

if I speak in the tongues of men or of angels

somebody loves you.  
you may not realize it, but it is true

Every now and then I have to tell her:  somebody loves you.   This will bring a doubtful look but, but also a smile.  So long as there’s a me, it will be true.  And what’s to take that feeling away from her, when I am gone, unless she forgets or puts it away?

So as we all push through another “Valentine’s Day” – take heart: somewhere out there or just around the corner, there is love you don’t see.   It may be held in secret,  or it may be dimly lit, or perhaps locked in eternity. But it is there.

Sulliven Ballou wrote:

But, O Sarah! If the dead can come back to this earth and flit unseen around those they loved, I shall always be near you; in the gladdest days and in the darkest nights . . . always, always, and if there be a soft breeze upon your cheek, it shall be my breath, as the cool air fans your throbbing temple, it shall be my spirit passing by. Sarah do not mourn me dead; think I am gone and wait for thee, for we shall meet again . . .
 

The love you do not see is as real as the cup in your hand, as the desk you sit at.  It is, in fact, as real as the love you feel for others.

Which you should try not to keep secret, by the way – it’s not doing any good in there.

now here’s a favourite Todd Rundgren song, performed rather sweetly:

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2014 by in what is this thing called love?.